Where the Crawdads Sing - hardcover – August 14, 2018

$20.46 Buy It Now 1h 5m, FREE Shipping, 30-Day Returns, eBay Money Back Guarantee

Seller: kitty_rachel (35) 100%, Location: US, Ships to: US, Item: 352726214884 BEST PRICING FREE SHIPPING HIGH QUALITY Where the Crawdads Sing - hardcover DETAILS Where the Crawdads Sing - hardcover Amazon.com Review An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: Although this is Delia Owens’ first novel, she long ago distinguished herself as a gifted writer. In the mid-80s, Owens co-wrote with her husband Cry of the Kalahari, which was a best-selling, nonfictional account of traveling and researching Africa’s Kalahari Desert. One of the joys of that book was the Owens’ description of the natural world, and Where the Crawdads Sing is immersed in the natural world as well. The story is set in the 1950s and revolves around a young woman named Kya Clark, who is from extremely rural North Carolina. Known by others as the Marsh Girl, she lives alone in nature—but the draw of other people, and specifically love, brings her into contact with the greater world. This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told—one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You’ll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you’re done you will want to talk about it with another reader. – Chris Schluep , Amazon Book Review Read more Review “A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review “Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—People “This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—Bustle “A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight “Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—Entertainment Weekly “This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath “Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—Real Simple “Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—Publishers Weekly “The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”—Southern Living “A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—Refinery29 “Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing. . . . This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.” – Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale “Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair “Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—Booklist “This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”—AARP “Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”—ShelfAwareness “With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”—Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth “A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—Augusta Chronicle “Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”—David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us Read more See all Editorial Reviews width: 6.4 x height: 1.2 x length: 9.3 x weight: 1.3 Shipping Shipping is FREE to all addresses other than APO/PO boxes in the lower 48 states. All our stock ships from our US-based warehouses. Shipped via USPS or UPS (depending on location and package weight) Unless stated otherwise, all orders will ship within 24 hours of your payment being processed. Check our feedback to see the great reviews of FAST shipping we offer. Payment & Return We stand behind our products. Items can be returned for exchange or full refund within 30 days from the date you receive your merchandise. We are not responsible for any purchase after this 30-day period. Domestic lower 48 free shipping is expedited. We have many different shipping locations depending on the product you buy and the shipping location that you choose. We try to ship most items within 24 hours of payment Monday-Friday. Most orders are in transit for two days but some may take longer. If you have a specific time frame please contact us before you make the purchase. Return shipping is the buyer's responsibility unless the return is a result of our mistake. We will pay for shipping replacement back to you if an exchange is requested. Feedback 100% satisfied customers. It says it all. Thank you for shopping with us! BEST PRICING FAST SHIPPING HIGH QUALITY Condition: Brand New, Brand: Does not apply, EAN: Does not apply, ISBN: Does not apply, Book, Best Seller: 15, MPN: Does not apply, Topic: Mystery, UPC: Does not apply, Type: Novel, Title: It, Language: English, Genre: Romance

PicClick Insights PicClick Exclusive
  •  Popularity - 564 views, 18.2 views per day, 31 days on eBay. Super high amount of views. 50 sold, 7 available.
  •  Price -
  •  Seller - 35+ items sold. 0% negative feedback. Good seller with good positive feedback and good amount of ratings.
Similar Items